What is open source?

Uncategorized

According to opensource.org, “Open source software is software that can be freely used, changed, and shared (in modified or unmodified form) by anyone. Open source software is made by many people, and distributed under licenses that comply with the Open Source Definition.”

With that being said, I firmly agree with the previous post. I’m not really sure if or how much this affects me to date. To my knowledge, I don’t think it has affected me, but I do understand why people are so for and so against it.

I mean, if you were the one that created something that would take hours and hours for someone else to figure out, I would understand why you would want to keep the rights private. But, at the same time it makes perfect sense to put out a piece of software hoping someone might use it, recode it and make it even better.

So, for me I’m still on the fence with how my opinion sways. Who knows, maybe it will affect me soon and I’ll need a stronger opinion, but for now I’m just happy to know why it’s up for topic and why both sides feel as strongly as they do.

http://opensource.org/definition
http://opensource.com/business/13/10/seven-reasons-closed-better-than-open-source

Leave a Reply

